2023 Statewide High School Juried Art Exhibit

 In Art and Gallery Shows, Current, Current News

The closing gallery reception and award ceremony for the 2023 Statewide High School Juried Art Exhibit was held on Sunday, April 23rd in the SCAC EBSCO Fine Art Gallery. 240 students from across the state in grades 10th-12th submitted nearly 400 works of art to this annual competition. Out of those works, judges Ryan Meyer (UAB) and Michael Willett (University of Montevallo) selected 80 pieces to be shown in the gallery. From these selected works, Meyer and Willett made their final selections for Best in Painting, Best in Drawing, Best in Mixed-Media, Best in Sculpture, Best in Photography, Best in Digital Art, and overall Best in Show. There were also two special awards chosen by the SCAC staff; Executive Director’s Choice and Staff Choice Award.

Thank you to UAB’s Department of Art and Art History, the University of Montevallo’s Department of Art, and the Blue Cross Blue Shield of Alabama’s Caring Foundation for sponsoring this gallery exhibit!


Best in Show

Madison Barrentine

Two Surfaces – Mixed Media

Best in Sculpture 

Amelia Carpenter – Untitled 

Honorable Mention:

Madison Jordan – Avatar

Best in Drawing

Jenna Nelson – Out on a Limb

Honorable Mention:

Maxwell Hudson – Anomalocaris 

Best in Mixed Media

Merritt Crumpton – Chalky

Honorable Mention:

Cameron Hart – Dancer 2

Best in Painting

Caroline Miller – Pity Party

Honorable Mention:

Benjamin Taylor – The Meat

Best in Photography

Maci Jungkind – Cracked 

Honorable Mention:

Nathan England – Lights Read

Best in Digital Art

Tishunti Poon – Self Portrait 

Honorable Mention:

Gabe Dirks – The Pyramid which Glows Red

Staff Choice Award

Dana Melchor-Garcia – Inner Head (In Her Head)

Executive Director’s Choice

Sky Howton – Sweet Nothings

Participating Artists:

Alabama School of Fine Arts

Madison Barrentine – Kodie Campbell – Amelia Carpenter –  Merritt Crumpton – Aubree Hoindo – Maxwell Hudson – Madison Jordan – Kenendy Kimbrough -Caroline Miller – Kristian Pittman – Tishunti Poon

Booker T. Washington Magnet High School

Naeun Kim

Briarwood Christian High School

Kathryn Danley – Mary Beth Dicen – Gabe Dirks – Lauren Greene – Anna Holdefer – Abbie Hunt – Carlton Mullins – Gracie Murphy – Jenna Nelson – Aidan Punch – Isaac Rollins – David Witt – Briley Youngblood

Chilton County High School

Auviana Innusa – Danna Melchor-Garcia – Mindy (Thao) Tran

Hewitt Trussville High School

Shazie Bryant – Corinne Caprara –  Laura Donovan – Elizabeth Spusta – Kathryn Young

Homewood High School

Cameron Hart – Aubrie Kirkwood – Lauren Newman

Hoover High School

Drew Budd – Nathan England – Caeden Hartfield – Laney Hunter – Maci Jungkind – Aidan Puckett – Allie Sanderson – Ayla Steed – Madeline Turner – Linley Wyatt

Oak Mountain High School

Madison Goodwin

Smiths Station High School

Linda Lam

Spain Park High School

Savannah Drake – Indiana Gannett – Benjamin Taylor

St. Paul’s Episcopal High School

Alexandria Eubanks – Meghan Luttrell – Ann Whigham

Thompson High School

Emilio Aparicio – Connor Dunn – Lilly Godwin – Sky Howton

Vestavia Hills High School

Danielle Qin

West Morgan High School

Madison Walker

Westminster School at Oak Mountain

Kate Wilson

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment