2022 Adult Juried Art Exhibit

 In Art and Gallery Shows, Current News

The 2022 Adult Juried Art Exhibit opening and gallery reception was held on Thursday, January 6th, 2022 in the Shelby County Arts Center’s EBSCO Fine Art Gallery.

The SCAC was excited to host the annual Adult Juried Art Exhibit in the beautiful EBSCO Fine Art Gallery. This year’s exhibit was judged by Artist Terry Strickland. This year, the show saw the most artists entering the exhibit, with 95 artists entering about 175 pieces of art. Strickland certainly had her work cut out for her when she decided which pieces to accept into the show based on digital entries alone. After the accepted pieces arrived in the gallery, Strickland then came to the gallery and did the final round of judging in person. After spending several hours contemplating her choices, she made her selections, and prizes were awarded the opening night of the exhibit.  Check out the bottom of this page for a special video Strickland created to talk about her selections and the criteria she uses to judge artwork.

Each fall this exhibit submission opens up to all Alabama Artists ages 18 and up.

Be sure to stop by the gallery and see this work while it’s on display! The work will remain on display until February 3, 2022. Gallery hours are Monday-Thursday from 10am-5pm (Wednesdays 11am-5pm).

Winning Artists:

Best in Show: Ashley Bond-The Reporter

Best in Mixed-Media: Joyce Darby-Winter Sunset

Best in Photography: Karen Graffeo-Santiago, Cuba

Best in Drawing: Jamison Harper-I Don’t Know You

Best in Painting: Joshua Hoggle-Crop Top

Best in 3D: Ted Metz-Locator

Executive Director’s Choice: Tony Brock-Never Get Out of This World Alive

Staff Choice: Maddie Manston-Cut and Paste

Honorable Mentions:

Lindanne Phillips-Ode to Monkey Butt

Karen Graffeo-Adamson and Evelyn

Samuel Lazrak-Storm

Amy Collins-Peaceful Grazing

Jimmy McGowan-Rock Star

LeighAnn Edmonds-Red, White, & Blue

Participating Artists:

Sarah Adkins-Jablonsky – Kaitlyn Avery – Ashley Bond – Madelyn Carr Bonnett – Michelle Branson – Tony Brock – Rhubell Brown – Gary Chapman – Amy Collins – Joyce Darby – Savannah Donald – Mark Driscoll – LeighAnn Edmonds – Janice James Eubank – Dee Falls – Anna Flemming – Evan Franklin – Karen Graffeo – Jamison Harper – Diane Hathcock – Joshua Hoggle – Daisie Hoitsma – Homer Johnson – Samuel Lazrak – Maddie Manston – Sarah Marlow – Donna Martin – Jimmy McGowan – Ted Metz – Haley Oliver – Lindanne Phillips – Bob Quarles – Gary Ricketts – Vicki Snider – Savannah Snowden – Dawn South – Cole Swarts – Daniel Tipton – Grace Varner – Ted Vodde – Rhandie Weaver – Bryant Whelan – Ginny Whitaker

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment